A Series of Biographies

"There is properly no history, only biography." Ralph Waldo Emerson


Series Overview

The Making of America series traces the constitutional history of the United States through overlapping biographies of American men and women. The debates that raged when our nation was founded have been argued ever since: How should the Constitution be interpreted? What is the meaning, and where are the limits, of personal liberty? What is the proper role of the federal government? Who should be included in “we the people”? Each biography in the series tells the story of an American leader who helped shape the United States of today.

Book 1: Alexander Hamilton (March 7, 2017)

Book 2: Andrew Jackson (Spring 2018)

Book 3: Abraham Lincoln (tentatively scheduled for Fall 2018)

Book 4: Susan B. Anthony (publication date to be announced)

Book 5: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (publication date to be announced)

Book 6: Thurgood Marshall (publication date to be announced)