A Series of Biographies

"There is properly no history, only biography." Ralph Waldo Emerson


Series Overview

The Making of America series traces the constitutional history of the United States through overlapping biographies of American men and women. The debates that raged when our nation was founded have been argued ever since: How should the Constitution be interpreted? What is the meaning, and where are the limits, of personal liberty? What is the proper role of the federal government? Who should be included in “we the people”? Each biography in the series tells the story of an American leader who helped shape the United States of today.

Book 1: Alexander Hamilton (Mar. 2017)

For more info, click here.

Book 2: Andrew Jackson (Mar. 2018)

For more info, click here.

Book 3: Abraham Lincoln (Sept. 4, 2018)

For more info, click here.

Book 4: Susan B. Anthony (publication March 2019)

Book 5: Franklin Delano Roosevelt (tentative publication September 2019)

Book 6: Thurgood Marshall (publication date TBA)